Important Elements of Culture In My Life

Culture plays a big part in everyone’s lives today. It makes us become what we are. Tomorrow, we could still be the same person or our personality could change with the click of a finger as you may find love for something else or you may not find whatever it is interesting anymore. I really can’t see my interests’ disappearing within the next thirty or so years that I will live for. It has made me for who I am today and I think without ‘music’ in my life, I don’t think I would really be the person who I am today. Music is pretty much my life. Anyone who knows me, its music that keeps me going. It’s been with me since I can remember. I was possibly four when my dad stuck on AC/DC and I fell in love with it instantly. I still think they are the greatest band ever in music history. They are so successful.

I perform a lot on stage. I sing, dance and act. I started performing when I was nine. If it wasn’t for my mum and my aunty bringing me to dancing when I was younger, I really don’t know what I would be doing outside my college life. I still do it to this day and I’m twenty two now. I’ve also been playing drums for six years which I love. If it wasn’t my aunty telling me about her son teaching drums, I would not have had the chance to perform in the Olympia in Dublin. I am so lucky to have performed in one of the biggest stages in Ireland. I love singing. I’m so lucky to have got the chance to perform with a musical society that I am a part of, S.O.N.G, and we got the chance to perform in the Waterford Music and Arts Festival in 2010. It was a lot of fun. My friend and I also run our own Variety Group in Dundalk called Amateur Antics and we had auditions last September and we just had our show last Saturday on the 26th of January. I think it is safe to call it successful. The show was in aid of SOSAD.

I love being myself and being creative. To be quite honest, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do when I was leaving school and my aunty was telling me about the Creative Multimedia PLC course and I enjoyed my two years there and I am now here in third year in DkIT. You look back and say how time has went so quick within a few years. Gaming is also a big part of my life too. If it wasn’t for my dad buying us the SNES console when it came out, I don’t know how different my ‘gaming life’ would be.

I’m a big Nintendo fan. I do like and own a PlayStation 3 but nothing compares to a 3D game of Super Mario which is only possible on a Nintendo console. Everyone knows that I’m obsessed with Super Mario. Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2 are my favourite games of all time. I can’t wait to see what Nintendo has next the Wii U.

Leave a Reply

